Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dominant or Non Dominant hand?

ANSWERED

OK, so, I got my Fitbit Inspire 2 today. I had it on my non-dominant hand, which is my left. It was also on this setting.

I have anxiety, so I tend to wiggle my leg. I also fiddle with soft objects with my left hand to help me fall asleep. I'm an animator, so I work with my right hand but also need to use my left for general animation things (flipping, deleting etc). I also game, and switch the dog's lead when walking as I prefer her on the wall side. I have OCD, so I feel weird using a watch on my dominant hand when **ahem** toileting. This is a lot of info, but I believe in context.

So, I was sitting down and felt anxious, so my left leg was doing the jig. Suddenly my steps decided to go up, and I was perplexed and a little flustered. 

After some Googling, I switched the settings to dominant when the watch is still on my left wrist. I feel almost bad for lying to this non sentient robot, as honesty is one thing I practice almost too well. As you can see, it has its limits!

I was wondering, does having the watch on you non-dominant hand while setting it to think it's on my dominant one, actually affect the watch negatively? This is important as while I do believe in honesty, accuracy is even more important as I will obsess over steps that I didn't take! It definitely seems more accurate now, but it is weird to have to fool a gadget to get an accurate reading xD

Anyone else here presently wear on their non-dominant but have the watch think otherwise?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I would suggest trying not to over think this. I think it's common, when someone gets a new Fitbit, to have to try different settings to find the ones that work best. It doesn't mean that you're "lying" to the device. It's a little gadget and you own it now. You're allowed to make it do what you want.