Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I walk more?

I'm new to fitbit and an art student in college and in a new city. With all of my homework and projects, I find it difficult to get in 10,000 steps a day, Especially since the days are now shorter and being outside when it's dark outside where I live is not safe. On average, I take about 5,000 steps every day. I already walk to school and back, I walk to the stores for whatever errand I need to run, I don't even own a car or take city transit. Any tips on taking more steps every day?

Best Answer
0 Votes
17 REPLIES 17

Get up and move every hour for 5 minutes. Realy adds up.

But not eveyone can get to 10K a day depending on thier schedule. If you cant with your schedule just do what you can.

Welcome to the forums!

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer
0 Votes

@TwylaHearArt

Others will give you lots of ways to get a few more steps in here and there. I think that's important advice, but I think proper goal-setting is important too.

I'm a huge fan of setting goals you can hit, then hitting them every single day. I started out at 6k, upped it to 7k when I lost 10 lbs, and will up it to 8k when I get to 20 lbs lost. (Four pounds from now.) I think if I set my goal too high, it's easy to slack off. If I'm not gonna hit 10k anyway, why not settle for 4k today? OTOH, I haven't missed my goal in over two months, and you can bet nothing short of incapacitation will keep me from hitting my 7k tomorrow. I crave continuing that string of wins, and it motivates me every day.

Try setting your goal a little higher than what you've been averaging and devising a plan to up it every so often, either based on the calendar or on weight loss. Then as you find more opportunities to get a few more steps in, take them.  

SebringDon | Florida USA | Fitbit's Food Plan Demystified