Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importance of specifying physical activity?

ANSWERED

Hi, I'm relatively new to Fitbit and very happy with it so far!

How important is it for accuracy of calorie expenditure through physical activity (CE) to correctly specify the activity? I have the Fitbit Versa, and from what I know it calculates CE only by HR tracking (correct me if I'm wrong).

However, let's take for example weight lifting: During compound movements (e.g. squats, deadlifts), true CE is likely higher than when training smaller muscles, even though HR may be similar. When enganging in "risky" sports, HR may be higher just from the psychological side effects (even though true CE isn't higher).

Main question: Should I be more careful for selecting exercise type to get more correct CE details, how can I maximize its correctness?

Additional question: Does Fitbit take into account that someone with a high fitness level will have lower HR during physical exercising than an untrained individual (is this even important for CE)?

Thanks so much in advance

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@DataNerdella wrote:

How important is it for accuracy of calorie expenditure through physical activity (CE) to correctly specify the activity? I have the Fitbit Versa, and from what I know it calculates CE only by HR tracking (correct me if I'm wrong).

It probably takes HR into account somewhat, as well as the movement of your tracker through space.  For that reason, if you don't specify an exercise at all, it will tend to credit more CE for walking fast for an hour than it will for weightlifting the same hour.  On the other hand, if you do specify weight lifting, fitbit will take that info into account, and may give you a bit of a CE 'boost' even though your average HR an hour of weight lifting may be less than the same hour walking fast.