Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for general suggestions from (former?) non-exercisers

ANSWERED

Hello, all.

I'm just getting started, in some ways, and I'm looking for thoughts to help motivate me, keep things moving, and just general tips. I am a middle-aged (if I live to 100), 5'10" and weighed 250 lbs. at my heaviest. Health screeners told me I was "morbidly obese" and I have had some health issues that I've sort of made my mind up to try to address more with a fitness regime and less with pharmaceuticals.

I've never been coordinated/athletic AT ALL. I hated gym class with a passion--with a few exceptions. I did like some parts of weight lifting in high school, which we did for a short time. I took up walking a few years ago after my health started going south a few years ago (coronary artery disease, high BP, and recently diabetes diagnosis).

I've always been heavier than I wanted to be, though I WISH I were only has "fat" as I thought I was in high school. 

My Fitbit helped me to be aware of how much/little I was moving. I first sort of set an informal goal of 5K/day, thinking this is more than I was doing, so that was a reasonable goal for a newbie who tends to decide to work on exercise, overdoes it immediately, and quits. Gradually, I've increased this over time (current minimum weekly average goal is 8K, but I do closer to 9K at present). I live in a small city in the midwest, where there is virtually no public transportation and people park as close as they can to where they're going. (I don't.)

From Jan. to Aug. 2017, I've managed to drop 35 pounds (though my weight seems to fluctuate 10 lbs. on a regular basis on the same digital scale--is that normal?). 250 lbs was a wake-up call, but I'm down to 214ish. MyFitnessPal said that if I do what I did today, in terms of diet/exercise, I'd be down to 194 in 5 weeks. I think I'd also be dead. 🙂