Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New and need advice for getting started (have CFS)

Hi all,

I just bought my first fitbit! Can't wait to get started. But I have CFS after being extremely sick some years ago. I haven't done ANYthing for years! Literally! 

Is there a recommended program for people diagnosed with CFS or somewhere I can find recommendations for getting started? I want to avoid that post-exertional malaise that knocks us ME/CFS people out for three or more days at a time. It's just not fun at all. 

Hope to get some replies, especially from some ME/CFS people out there who have had successes. TIA!

Best Answer
0 Votes
14 REPLIES 14

hi - I'm new too and dealing w long covid for 13 months, including crashes of post-exertional malaise that I am not good at predicting or avoiding. i don't know enough to have any tips - just reaching out to say i'm with you and rooting for you. I've mostly been using fitbit to track heart rate but have just started trying to get walking more. Just a very little bit at a time so far, like around the block once or twice, after spending past year mostly in bed/couch. How are you doing so far? 

Best Answer
Hi Shallot, so nice to "meet" you!

Sorry about the long-hauler thing, I've heard it's really difficult. My CFS
is part of having had BII. I think the worst part of it is trying to
understand how much to do and how much not to do. The PEM doesn't always
hit immediately, it might be the next day or day and a half later. But when
it hits, oh man! And it can take a while to come out of it too. None of
this, "Oh, I'll just rest up a bit and try again tomorrow" stuff!

I haven't started my Fitbit routine yet. My tracker should arrive in the
next day or so. I thought I'd reach out to the community to see if anyone
has any advice. I've had a lot of starts and stops over the last 5 years
(since the CFS hit me), and this time, I'd really like to avoid the stops