Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice Runner looking for tips/advice

ANSWERED

Hello everyone, 

I am an on again off again novice runner who recently started running three times a week. I have been doing this for about two months. I am able to jog about 23 minutes without stopping. I’m not very fast (takes me about 10.30-11 minutes to complete a mile). Thus, in 23 minutes i can only complete about 1.89 miles.

I guess I’m mainly looking for tips on how to become faster and how to train effectively. I’d love to do a 5K some day, but I have a lot of work to do.

Any advice is appreciated! 

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@kei505, I coach a lot of beginning runners on two running clubs and here is my standard advice for beginning runners to get faster in a 5K race:

• Breathing; if you're running along and can maintain a conversation in short sentences, you're running at a good training pace. If you're breathing so hard you're gasping for air, slow way down, you're going too fast, and finally, if you feel you're in imminent danger of collapsing, stop running NOW!
  • With the above point in mind, there really is no such a thing as too slow for a beginning runner.
  • Nose over toes; many beginning runners have a tendency to over stride, keeping your nose over your toes will still allow a natural "heal touch" first, but transition the main weight contact to the mid-foot area.
  • Run on dirt or grass wherever and whenever possible. In addition to the cushioning benefits of running on grass and dirt, there are other benefits, chief among them are a different series of stresses for every step (as opposed to having step after step after step being of a very similar nature and series of stresses), and improvement of ankle flexibility under load.