Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Readiness score feels demotivating, can someone help?

Hello,

I'm still new to Fitbit, so I started really enthoustic with training and tracking everything and really love it.

But I don't seem to get the readiness score.

Everyday I check my readiness score and the recommended zone minutes I should try to get. Everytime I achieve those goals . At the beginning it showed mediocre to low scores. On mediocre days I'd train, on the lower days I don't. 

However, at some point, I didn't train for two days, because I had pain on my knees of running. So the following the day the score was excellent. And no matter how hard I train now, I need to get two times plus active zone minutes on a excellent day to even ever get a low score again.

One might say: why care? Well seeing the low score, to me meant that I hadnt trained hard enough yesterday so I earned a day of rest. But now, everyday I must train according to the score, but my body cannot deal with that at the moment, since my knees are still hurting. So .. annoying score.

How should I read the score?

Yours is not to reason why, yours is but to do and die.
Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7

Listen to your body, not some 'magic' score that is based on totally wrong data (using AZM for readiness... such a dumb idea). However, if you need a tool to manage your training efforts you can try using TrainingPeaks and the TSB metric (which I find really useful, especially before racing, it helps me shape the intensity of my training before events). If you want the readiness, you may use EliteHRV, which is currently considered a gold standard in the industry (and includes context so you don't blindly follow the number but rather interpret it within the context like illness, muscle soreness etc.).

Best Answer
Hmm yea I think you are right and I know you need to know your limits. I