Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Resting heart rate too high?

I'm new to fitbit and had gotten mine on 1/15/17. I will say I am overweight but I feel like my resting BPM is EXTREMELY High. It started at 77 and now it progessivly getting higher. It says my resting heart rate is now 81. Ever since i woke up this morning 1/18/17; everytime I look at my BPM I am in the Fat burning zone in a range of 99-110. I feel like this is very inacurate. Although last night I had gone to the gym for an hour and that did increase my heart rate. Ever since me just sitting down or driving my heart rate is between 99-110. Is this something I should be talking to my doctor about or do you think it's just being inaccurate? I tried finding the solution to this problem on these fourms but every one I see is between 50-60. Although the chart only has the resting heart rate and not what it is now. Is there a way to reset this? I'm attaching yesterdays and todays. unnamed (1).jpgunnamed.jpg

Best Answer
31 REPLIES 31

If you have an appointment scheduled with your doctor, @Shanlin, you should discuss this at that time. But, it is not so high that you need to be overly concerned about it (worrying and fretting will increase it and your blood pressure). Your Resting Heart Rate is a "calculated" number based on several factors & times of day, and is a good indication of your fitness level. The more fit you are, the lower you heart rate will be - that is why you see a lot of Community members with RHR in the 50's or lower.  The HR chart you posted below is your 5-minute averages throughout the day, not a snapshot reading. Work on daily exercises, even if just getting out and walking, and you will see your RHR dropping.

Best Answer