Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Still having stiffness after 4 weeks

Hi, I'm new to the fitbit forums. I've been using a fitbit charge 2 for about 6 weeks and have been walking briskly 1-1.5 miles 4-6 times a week for the last 4 weeks, usually on the treadmill with a slight incline in intervals. Prior to this, I haven't exercised for about 10 years and have lived a fairly inactive lifestyle during that time. I tried to start with aerobic classes first, but found i was having trouble keeping up--which I expected to some degree due to just starting again and being overweight (5-7 and about 212lbs). So, I thought it might be best if I just tried to lose some of the weight, about 15-20 lbs before returning to these classes by low-moderate cardio (walking) and calorie reduction to about 1500 calories per day. I've only lost 3 lbs so far but I feel like an 80-year old, even after 4 weeks. I wouldn't describe it as sore, but I feel stiff and inflexible (basically no different than before I started exercising again). For example, when I am playing with my 4 year-old on the floor, getting of the floor is a major feat. My question is, am I doing something wrong? Is there something else I should be or could be doing? I'm 39 years old and I feel a lot older. I thought I would feel better, less stiff and healthier but I don't; however I do seem to have a bit more energy and my endurance is seems to be slowly increasing.

Thanks in advance!

Best Answer
0 Votes
11 REPLIES 11

Don't be discouraged. It can take time to see results.  Losing 3 pounds is a lot better than losing more and gaining it back.  If you're not doing any, you might try adding some stretching.

Before posting, re-read to see if it would make sense to someone else not looking at your Fitbit or phone.

Best Answer
0 Votes