Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suprisingly high resting heart rate, ideas?

Hello! First time poster. My resting heart rate is always between 72-76 and I don't know how to lower it. I'm a fitness instructor who averages out at 12,000+ steps a day, weight work outs 4 times a week, 2 HIIT sessions and 1 LISS. I'm well hydrated and get 8 hours of sleep a night on average. My blood pressure is normally a little low, but nothing out of the ordinary. Any ideas on how to lower my resting heart rate?

Thanks! 

Best Answer
0 Votes
8 REPLIES 8

Not quite what you are looking for, but here's more info on RHR

https://blog.fitbit.com/resting-heart-rate/

Before posting, re-read to see if it would make sense to someone else not looking at your Fitbit or phone.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Hi @Robyn93 —

There is nothing really wrong with an RHR of 72-76, but you can probably get it lower by increasing your aerobic exercise load.  According to this meta-analysis, link, the best type of exercise to decrease your RHR is endurance training and yoga.  I would have guessed endurance (longish aerobic exercise - running, biking, swimming) would do it, but I’m a little surprised about yoga.  Probably has to do with teaching you how to relax your body.

Your weight-training and HIIT are great for overall strength and fitness and surely help your peak performance, but don’t do much to lower your RHR.

Scott | Baltimore MD

Charge 6; Inspire 3; Luxe; iPhone 13 Pro

Best Answer
0 Votes

@Baltoscott  In that linked study, without have read all the details, it looks to me that they didn't consider HIIT separately, perhaps just as part of endurance training.

"The literature search analyzed 191 studies presenting 215 samples fitting the eligibility criteria. 121 trials examined the effects of endurance training, 43 strength training, 15 combined endurance and strength training, 5 additional school sport programs."