Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When you are "working out wrong"!

ANSWERED

After kind of dropping off the radar, I have picked up my motivation. I have to say that I have a very busy job, I am a chef for a sorority at a college and when I work 70 hours a week it is hard for me to eat regularly. Regardless, I am off for the summer and have promised myself to be better to myself. For the past 25 days or so I have been logging my food daily and also working out 5 days a week. I have access to the college's gym for free, so yay me.

The thing is, I have tried to educate myself on working out and I guess I am doing it wrong for weight loss? I work out 30 minutes on the elliptical 5 days a week and then I alternate upper body and legs every day. I have consistently upped the weights and I do feel that I am working out, but I am not painful. My body does feel tighter and I have lost 4.5 lbs. 

The internet tells me I am working out too much and should only do cardio 2-3 times a week? There is a thing of working out too much? I get the 2 days of rest, but am I working out too much? Please help me, I feel lost. My son is 14 and he is an athlete, but we have different goals and I don't think I can look at him and his workouts. 

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@Chef_Evie wrote:

The internet tells me I am working out too much and should only do cardio 2-3 times a week?  

That recommendation probably comes from meathead weight lifters who dismiss cardio training as useless and even harmful (because it’s "catabolic", i.e. will eat away your muscle gains). In reality, you can do as much cardio as time permits and you can recover from. If it’s low to moderate intensity, you can do it everyday if you want. If it’s high-intensity (e.g. HIIT), then 2-3 times would apply, because you need time to recover from these sessions.