Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sleep Not Tracking While on a Ship

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I’ve been using my ionic for a couple of months with no issues in the UK. Really happy with it. However, I had to fly to Florida to join a ship (work). It picked up the new time zone automatically after syncing and all seemed ok. I joined the ship the following day and I found it wasn’t tracking my sleep at night. Steps seemed ok. Although a couple of times I woke up and it had recorded several thousand steps while I’d been sleeping. Sleep tracking was non existent though. I’ve set my sleep schedule to my rough sleeping hours. Time zone is correct. I’ve restarted the ionic several times. I’ve decided to increase the sleep sensitivity tonight so I’ll see how that goes tomorrow. Any other ideas? Is it the fact the ship is moving that it’s struggling to record my sleep? I did use a charge HR on ships several years ago and had no problems... 

Moderator Edit: Updated Subject for Clarity

Best Answer
0 Votes
5 REPLIES 5

@Samuel398 Welcome to the Fitbit Community! Are you still on the ship or have you reached land already? Is the ship moving too much? Did the sensitivity change worked a bit?

I do think that the movement of the ship may confuse Ionic (it's sensor), and will think that you are actually awake and may even track some false steps. The same happened to me once that I slept on a bus (long trip and the road was rough).

"Autodetection of sleep is based on your movement. When you haven’t moved for about an hour, your device assumes that you’re asleep. Additional data—such as the length of time your movements are indicative of sleep behavior (such as rolling over, etc.)—help confirm that you’re asleep. Morning movement tells your tracker that you’re awake."