Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

70,000 steps weekly?

ANSWERED

I have been maintaining 10,000 every day for almost 3 months. Initially I lost 14 lbs in the first 10 weeks. Now I have not lost anything for the past 2 weeksand I still watch my food and walk every day. Has my body accepted this 10,000 as my norm and is it now expecting more from me. I remember reading in the past that your workout has to be more that what you routinely do every day. Does this make sense?

Mickey

Shackamaxon

Best Answer
2 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions

Are you nearing your goal weight?  If so, weight loss tends to slow.  Plateaus are not uncommon, either.  And with regard to your question, yes your body becomes more efficient as your general fitness improves.  And you are moving 14 fewer pounds around, too, so you are burning less with your steps than you were.  You could try shaking things up a little with your walking - intervals, for example.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer

Yes, you are right.  Your body looks for the most efficient way to perform what you do repetitively, and can do so in as little as 2 weeks.  So, if you want to maintain a steady decrease in body fat, then you will need to change it up a little.  Walking is a great way to go, but make those small changes in the way you do it by changing the route you take to include hills, increase your speed, carry hand-weights, or simply try a different type of movement altogether, such as cycling.  However you do it, keep it fun and keep moving.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7