Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calories in vs out concerns

ANSWERED

So i'm a little new to the whole weight loss thing but i'm learning, slowly. 

I do have a concern though.

If you consume way less calories than you expend, is there a downside?

On the "Harder intensity plan" the goal is a 1k deficit, what if the deficit is 2k? Is this one of those "doing more harm than good" situations?

Any info would be appreciated or directions to a good web site.

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

My advice is to do research on your own without a pre-conceived idea of what you hope to find. A lot of people hope to find out that they shouldn't aim for a 1k/day caloric deficit (or more), because they know that will be difficult to maintain. 

The overwhelming constant is that you lose fat if your body requires more calories to function than you consume. Of course, there are numerous caveats, side notes, etc. to that, so at bare minimum, make sure you're getting enough protein, vitamins, minerals, nutrients, and so forth. 

I can quite easily maintain a 1k/day calorie deficit when it's time to shed some pounds (although I personally like to do that during the week, and then have a meal or two of whatever I like over the weekend). It really starts w/ the hidden calories, such as adding sugar to coffee, soft drinks, ketchup or mayo, etc. If you're being true and accurate in your tracking, it's completely reasonable to eat 1,500 calories and burn 2,500 in a given day. 

I exercise 5 days a week, and most days eat right at 1k to about 1,200. I'm rarely tired.

Lastly, everybody is different. Best advice is, again, be accurate and truthful with yourself, make sure you're getting enough essential nutrients (very important), and be aware of indicators like fatigue, light-headedness, inability to maintain focus, etc. 

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
7 REPLIES 7