Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I really lose weight eating 3500 calories?

I have a Charge HR and have my Fitbit linked into MyFitnessPal. I have had my Fitbit for a week and I'm so confused about everything now.

My stats; Male, 31, 220lbs and 5'9. I have my settings in MyFitnessPal as sedentry and to lose 1.5lbs per week. I've calculated my BMR to be circa 2300.

On Saturday, I have a 13 hour day at a wedding, I'm a photographer, and my fitbit calorie burn was 4,514, 196 active minutes and 9,427 steps. MyFitnessPal has allocated me 1800 calories at sedentry and 1.5lbs per week setting, given the fitbit info it added an adjustment of 2,096 calories meaning in total I was allowed to eat 3,896 calories and still maintain the necessary 750 calorie deficit. 

Today, I played golf, it's just after midnight in the UK, I've burned 4,220 calories, taken 15,606 steps and had 194 active minutes. Again the adjustment into MyFitnessPal is 1,863 meaning I could eat 3,663 calories. 

I'm so confused here, because there is no way I could ever actually eat that many?!?! Plus, as far as I'm aware, 1lb = 3500 calories......

I was losing eating 1800 calories allocated by MFP, I thought the fitbit would help to make this easier instead it seems to be adding a massive headache!!

Best Answer
0 Votes
20 REPLIES 20

yeah that's not right, I never eat the amount my fitbit tells me anyway, I have a fitbit one so I don't think it tells me calories burned, you kinda have to go with that like a grain of salt, I mean just kinda figure out how many calories you want to eat a day and don't go over it, minimal carbs, more protein for sure, and exercise and drink plenty of water......good luck

Best Answer
0 Votes

I had the same thing, I burned more calories than I ate and before I went to bed I had over 2000 calories left to eat to reach my target.