Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused about calorie deficit calculated

Hi all,

I am new to this. Up until now I have worked with the Samsung Health App. Took me a while but now I have that figured out I struggle with this.

So the plan is for a 750 calorie deficit. I have set it to sedentary rather than personalised in the settings (just a personal preference). 

However, I am a bit confused as currently (4:22pm) in my dashboard it says 1106 cals in, 1242 cals out. And then it says I am 363 over target. Considering though that I am working towards a 750 deficit, shouldn't I be 614 over target? I know I will still burn until midnight, but at this current time, the over/under target indicator is off, or am I missing something?

Thankds for the help 😊

Best Answer
0 Votes
4 REPLIES 4

Glad to see your post.  I am also very confused by what it says I can eat calorie wise.  The first few day I was starting at 1200 for the day. I also have it set for 750 deficit and sedentary, I have tried setting it to moderate and kinda hard too, but the numbers stay the same.  When I look at it in the morning, it says I  have around 450 for the day.  Not cool.  I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Best Answer
0 Votes

I too was confused. However, it calculates based on what it thinks your overall target is at that time of day. I don't know what formula Fitbit uses, but if you're consistently under or at target for the day, I wouldn't worry.

For example, my breakfast is usually 200-300 calories (3 eggs and coffee, or 2 servings of yogurt and coffee), and I'm under target.

If I eat an omelette (3 eggs, 2 oz cheddar cheese, 3oz of ham or turkey), with coffee, it's about 500-600 calories, and it shows over target. 

Best Answer
0 Votes