Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Don't Understand!!!!

Hi 

I'm new to all this, I'm struggling to understand. I'm a 5"4 female who weighs 110 pounds. I work as a desk job. I've just joined the gym. 

I have my Fitbit linked with MFP, and to lose 1lb a week it's stating I need to eat 1,210 calories. Now my concern is my gym instructor did my BMR which is 1367. I did an online calculator which states my TDEE was around 1,600 so if I was to drop 500 calories below my TDEE it would be 1,000 calories which is even below my BMR. 

The gym instructor today said I shouldn't be eating that low. Now I won't always be able to get to the gym due to work etc so on some days I'm going to burn less than others. 

Im slightly confused as to how many calories I should be eating to lose weight. 

Best Answer
10 REPLIES 10

If you're wearing a Fitbit, there's no need to rely on an on-line TDEE calculator.

Fitbit measures and shows you how many calories you are burning, and it knows a lot more about what you are doing than an on-line calculator.

Losing a pound a week at 5'4" 110 pounds seems to me like an excessive goal.  If you just joined a gym and are just starting to exercise, there's a decent chance you will start losing some fat anyway without being too concerned about BMR, TDEE, calorie numbers.

Before posting, re-read to see if it would make sense to someone else not looking at your Fitbit or phone.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Thanks for your response. So do I just eat slightly less than whatever calories I have burned in order to lose weight? 

Best Answer
0 Votes

Like   they said if you eat 500 less than you burn daily you theoretically should start losing weight although the fitbit is not entirely accurate so you might have to compensate by eating more or less until you get measurable results on a physical weight scale. .