Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit Charge HR- Serious gear or a toy?

I own the Charge HR and I wouldn't use the HR as anything more than a toy that gives an approximation of your HR. I've been using a EKG accurate HR monitor for cycling for 25 years so I have to say I know what my heart is doing. I give fitbit credit for helping me lose weight and getting me off the couch but a "Serious" piece of gear it is not.

For example, I know my resting HR is at 33-35 bpm (taken with an EKG accurate HRM), Fitbit HR states 59 bpm. I go on a walk with the wife in the evening, I wear my chest strap and use my GPS cycling computer so I can log the walk. The HRM is 80-85 bpm, Charge HR is 127-140 bpm.

There is a huge amount of inaccuracy with optical HRM's, will it show a trend? Sort of, if  I see my resting HR go up from 54 to 59 I may be over training. If it's trending down, I'm on track.

The inaccuracy in the HR also impacts your estimated calorie burn example: walk for 4.12 miles at 111 avg HR, Fitbit shows 881 calories burned. The chest strap HRM shows 5 miles (confirmed by additional GPS tracking) an average HR of 80 bpm and 386 calories.

Is the Charge HR accurate, NOPE. Does it get me off the couch? YEP!

The strength of fitbit is logging all your food, setting your own calorie intake and staying as close as possible and getting your steps and stairs and moving and burning more calories than you eat. It helped me lose 50 lbs.

Best Answer
5 REPLIES 5

@SunsetRunner wrote:

For example, I know my resting HR is at 33-35 bpm (taken with an EKG accurate HRM)

Wow! I read that Mo Farah's resting heartrate is 33bpm. Unsure whether I would be proud or worried if mine was that low.