Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit's calorie counting algorithm

First off, this is not a criticism of my Fitbit Versa 2, but an honest question.

As a scientist, I have a type A personality, and, even before I had a Fitbit, I logged every calorie I consumed. Until my Fitbit, though, I had no idea how many calories I BURNED, but I suspected that I was usually at a net deficit (more calories burned than consumed). As it turns out, not only is that the case, but it's not even close: I burn 1,200-1,300 more calories/day than I consume. I am 183 cm and 105 kg with a BMI of 25-27 (i.e., fat). My target weight based on my frame size is ~75-80 kg. I accumulate my recommended 150 minutes of "active minutes" for the week by noon on Monday (i.e,. I exercise ridiculously intensively via biking, swimming, or running). Now I know it's not all about calories, and it matters WHAT you eat, but come on: if I drank 2,000 calories of lard/day and burned 3,000 calories.....wouldn't I lose weight just in terms of shear physics (i.e., laws of thermodynamics)?! How can you gain weight by burning 1,300 calories more than you consume a day? It seems to be violating a law of physics unless I am converting water into energy, which, as a biologist, I do not think is possible.