Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Food tracking leading to unhealthy food choices and binge eating?

I've noticed something troubling lately...ever since I started to track my food with the fitbit app, I have been making more and more unhealthy eating decisions and binge eating, which I have not done in years.

I'm pretty healthy and I tend to run and exercise quite often. I am now only 5 lbs away from my goal weight, but I have plateaued. I decided to get a fitbit for general tracking and I used the food tracking to see where I can improve to lose that last 5 lbs. I have been using the food tracker for a few months.

Now, I'm generally a very healthy eater. There have been months where I have not eaten a single piece of "unhealthy" food. I even successfully conditioned myself to hate chips, soda, most chocolate, and doughnuts. This food actually tastes gross to me now.

However, ever since I started to use the food tracking app, I have been making horrible eating decisions. It started gradually at first, but now it has become a disaster. Within the last week, I binge ate on 3 separate days and I did not even like what I was eating. I just mechanically shoved unhealthy food in my mouth, as if it was a sort of compulsion. Since I have been using the food tracking app, I have gained 3 lbs.

I have a few theories for why this could have happened:

1. Tracking food made me realize that I could be eating more, so that little leeway opened up the gateway to eating unhealthy food.

2. Tracking food made me constantly think about food, which made me hungry.

3. Constantly tracking food made me mentally exhausted and so I "crashed."

4. While tracking food, if I ever went above the daily intake amount and got that red X, I would give up for that day. The mentality of "since I already messed up, I might as well stop trying today and eat whatever."