Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Im not losing weight.

Hi group.  I'm new to this so hopefully Ive set this up right.   

Im super active, average 15,000-20,000 steps on a slow day.   I run (on treadmill right now) 4 miles in 33 minutes and do the eliptical about 30 minutes.   Days I don't work out at home I riding 3 or 4 horses.  Riding actually makes more steps and burns more calories than my regular routine.   My work out/activity is 6 days a week.   

I'm 5'9" and in my mid 40's.   The weight seems to be creeping on, but will not come off.   The Dr's ran test for Thyroid etc and its all fine.    Since October Ive managed to keep myself to about 1800 calories a day.   Tried to stay low carb, low sugar.    Of course, I have cheat days.    I have not lost a single pound - not one!!!!   In fact, Ive gained about 5.   What the heck??    I've never worked out so much and i never had to monitor my diet before.   I even started eating breakfast (which until a few months ago i didnt do)    Nothings working.   Any helpful ideas or information would be greatly appreciated.   This is beyond frustrating.       

Best Answer
0 Votes
27 REPLIES 27

Hi!

Quick question, do you also take your measurements? It may be possible that you are gaining weight because you are building muscle. I mean... look at how much you've been working out lately.

Good luck!

Best Answer
Hi!  Thank you for the response.
I did not take measurements.   However my clothing is tighter now instead of loose.   In the beginning there was a change in muscle mass for sure.   Now the weight seems to be increasing on my hips and stomach - which isn't muscle mass - it's becoming a spare tire.   😔  It's very frustrating.   No wonder so many people give up on working out and diets. 

Sent from my Verizon 4G LTE Droid
Best Answer
0 Votes

Hi outlawtdh,