Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it true that you can gain weight/fat by eating too little??

I am 57 years old and very active, I do at least 5 strength training classes a week and stay under 1200 calories a day.  I have been gaining weight in my thighs and belly area and don't know why. A trainer at the gym suggested it is because I don't eat enough although I eat healthy and include lots of protein.

Any suggestions?

Best Answer
0 Votes
5 REPLIES 5

I'm no expert, but I have never heard of gaining weight by not eating enough, and it doesn't sound right to me.  The one way I could imagine that is if you are temporarily retaining extra fluids.  If that is the case, once your body rebalances, the fluid weight should drop.

However, I question if your really mean you are gaining weight or size.  If you are gaining weight, that shows on scales.  If you are gaining size, that might be visible, which sounds like your case since you say where the extra "weight" is.

Before posting, re-read to see if it would make sense to someone else not looking at your Fitbit or phone.

Best Answer

You said you stay under 1200 Calories. No one should go under 1200

How much under?

Here is an article  for you

Not eating enough

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer

Hi, @Lildeb08, I second what @JohnnyRow says - you say that you are “gaining weight in your thigh and belly area”... Gaining weight is, as he says, measured on the scales, so you can’t say that yu are gaining weight in any particular spot.

If you have been going to the gym, and building muscle, it could be that you are adding centimetres to your measurements in those areas?  That could mean that you are building muscle, which is usually a good thing.