Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here - when does the weight start shifting?

I'll admit I've only been doing this for a week so it's early days. 

I've set a target of 7500 steps to start with and let the FITBIT app determine my daily calories - which I'm well under.  The frustrating thing is that I'm not seeing any movement on the scales after a week?  Bit disappointed. Robot Sad

Any insight, motivational posts much appreciated.

Best Answer
0 Votes
8 REPLIES 8

A pound of body fat contains 3500 calories, so losing a pound of fat in a week is quite easy

A 500ml bottle of water weighs about 1.2pounds, so seeing that loss isnt quite as easy

Charge HR 2
208lbs 01/01/18 - 197.8lbs 24/01/18 - 140lbs 31/12/18
Best Answer
0 Votes

You may want to check on the quality of your calories intake. There's two differences. Bad Quality (Donuts, Chocolate, Candy, super high sugar food, powerbars, protein shakes, etc.) and there's Good Quality (Fruits and Veggies for starters, Milk, Foods to Build Lean Muscle, etc.)

There's also the possibility of overeating. I for starters never meet the -1000 deficit or -500 deficit. I have -2748 calories deficit yesterday and concentrated on not eating any bad quality. 2 veggie salads, 2 servings of eggs, milk, and my jenny craig meal plan. Plus overwalking.

I wound up overeating when I was 170 and now I'm 193 with excess fat gained. All from the Bad Quality. Cut that out, I'm bound to get back to 170 in a few weeks.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Focus on how you feel in the short term. Progress using weight as the only indicator will feel slow at first. Right now you will be building muscle and . Three months from now it will feel much faster and you will see changes.Patience and determination are the most important.

Best Answer
0 Votes

A calorie is a calorie

Saying their are good calories and bad calories is like saying there are good miles and bad miles.