Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No weight loss despite calorie deficit and activity

Hi all, 

Look for some advice and encouragement...  

I am new to Fitbit, but not so new to weight loss.  I am almost 26 yo, 5'3", and female.  For most of my adult life my baseline weight has been around 128 - 130 lbs.  A few years back, my weight creeped up to 140 lbs which spurred my first attempt at weight loss.  I had always been active (walking everywhere, working in restaurants), but not much for exercise.  Through exercise (cardio and heavy weight lifting) and maintaining a calorie deficit (1200 - 1550 calories initially, then 1450 - 1700 when lifting more), I dropped to a lean 123 lbs.    

Fast forward a few years, and packing on the stress (job, mortgage) and the pounds, I weighed in this winter at 150 lbs.  Bummer.

I started tracking with fitbit this spring, but it didn't seam to help me...  Although I had it set to a 750 cal. deficit, and later a 1000 cal. deficit, I found I was actually GAINING weight...  So I switched back to the old 1200 - 1550 cal. zone that worked a few years back.  

For the last few weeks I've been hovering between 146 and 148 lbs.  I track EVERYTHING and eat around 1300 - 1350 cal/day.  I drink LOTS of water.  At least 64 oz/day, and usually closer to 80.  I eat a healthy, well-balanced diet that is high in protien and fiber.  I eat mostly fresh and organic foods.  I also exercise several days a week, with full body strength training 3x week, and 30 minutes of high intensity cardio 5x week.  I also walk (acording to fitbit) between 7 - 12 miles a day.  I feel my body getting stronger, and have been increasing my weights and feel myself getting close to needing to change up my overall routine, but I should be seeing a little change on the scale for all this effort, right?