Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting and monitoring against a goal deficit

ANSWERED

Hi All

I'm new to Fitbit, having just ordered a Charge 2 that will hopefully arrive in a few days. Yay! In the meantime, I've downloaded the Fitbit app on my android phone and have been playing around to get used to it. My plan is to use FatSecret to log my food intake (using Fitmess to sync that to Fitbit) and then use the Fitbit app for everything else - i.e. exercise logging, weight logging, water intake, etc.

I don't really have an exercise goal or a calorie intake goal per se, just a deficit goal each day. I create a daily deficit of 200 Cal (roughly), which I 'bank' to allow 1-2 largely unmonitored drinks/dinners out with friends each week...I find that evens out nicely over the course of a week to keep me at a steady weight. If I don't exercise as much as usual, it's fine - I eat less; if I exercise more, I eat more to end up with the same deficit each day.

I find the FatSecret app to be great to help me monitor and modulate my food and exercise during the day. The app automatically adds my RMR (based on 8 hours sleep and 16 hours resting) at the start of the day - for me, it's 1120 Cal. I can add to that calorie burn by logging exercise (i.e. replacing some of that 16 hours of rest with other activities). As I add food, I can easily see how much in deficit I will be for that day. It is very easy to get a snapshot of exactly where I will be at the end of the day at any point throughout that day.

So, as a very simple example, if I haven't done any activity throughout the day and eaten 500 Cal by lunch, I can easily see that I can allow 420 Cal for dinner. If I want to eat more than that, I know that I would have to get some activity in at some point before I go to bed. Usually I've done some exercise though so the maths isn't that easy and the app is essential for me to understand where I'm at.