Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So Frustrated

I am new to the fitbit app, I have been using the phone app for about 2 months now.  I have cut out soda completely, drinking recommended water per day.  I am walking 6000 steps a day now, initially started at 5000.  I lift weights 3 times a week.  I do not have a fitbit yet but plan to get one.  Within the first month I lost 5 pounds and within the second month gained that all back plus an extra pound. 

I am running at a 1000 calorie deficit on the dashboard.  My calories are always under.  I am so disappointed right now but plan to stay with it.  I have started drinking protein mix with my water and eating a protein bar for my lunches.  Just discouraging at this point.

Best Answer
0 Votes
9 REPLIES 9

Personally, I wouldn't worry about the weight factor until you can get your activity up to a baseline of 10K steps a day.  

Assuming your a big guy like me, my goal is 3800 calories (not steps)

Best Answer
0 Votes

Yes I am a big man, 266 pounds now.  I am trying to work up to the 10000 a day but I have knee problems and some days it is difficult to hit the 6000.  Thank you for answering that gave me some hope that I can get there.

Best Answer
0 Votes

You didn't get to 266 pounds in a day and so it is going to take time. There are many reasons why you might not be losing yet. But the good news is you started to create a healthier lifestyle. If you do that you will create something you can maintain for the rest of your life. Despite the fact that you have not lost yet, you might already feel healthier from cutting out the soda and increasing your activity.

I would like to suggest to not worry about protein mix and protein bars for lunch. Atleast check out what kind of protein bar you choose, as they can be high in calories and they can have lots of sugar in them.