Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck on a Plateau for the past 2 months

So, I have been using Fitbit for the past 9 months. Though it’s been a long road, I’ve gone down 45 pounds from my starting weight of 256 and got my body fat percentage to around 20%-19% (waist is 36in). 

However, since September 2017, I’ve been bouncing between the same 2-3 pounds and I don’t know why. I exercise 5 days a week and don’t eat junk food during the week. I have pizza on the weekend but during the week it’s stricktly baked foods and fruits and veggies (I record everything and make the same thing to eat most usually switching out chicken and fish as my meats).   I eat on average 1800-2000 calories a day and with exercise burn 3100-3400 a day during the week according to my Fitbit.  I do 30 min of cardio (various machines each day) as a warm-up and then lift weights and do body weight exercises for an hour after that.   Anyone have any advice/tips?

Best Answer
0 Votes
5 REPLIES 5

You may want to check this topic on the Dreaded Plateau for ideas/pointers.

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)

Take a look at the Fitbit help site for further assistance and information.

Best Answer

Sounds like your metabolism may have adapted. If this is the case, it will need further stimulation to disrupt the new norm. I had to switch from steady-state cardio to HIIT to keep the ball rolling.

Serious HIIT, done on a rower, prowler or treadmill set at high incline (with a good amount of time in peak zone) can have a profound effect on the metabolism. That, and squats and deadlifts. 🙂

Work out...eat... sleep...repeat!
Dave | California

Best Answer