Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding calories in calories out

I'm new to the whole fitbit weight plan and cant get my head around calories.

Im not over weight never have been but have never eaten healthly.Im 188cm tall and my weight fluctuates around 80-82kg.My job is extremly active and i can walk anywhere from 10-12km per shift.I eat around 950-1200 calories a day And can burn 3800-4200 calories a day according to my fitbit stats.

So the way i see it is if im only eating those 950-1200 calories a day and burning 3800-4200 calories daily then surely i should drastcally be dropping weight.

Some insight knoeledgw from you guys in the know would be appreciated,Thanks.

Best Answer
0 Votes
11 REPLIES 11

Your BMR alone is around 1800, so you would be in a caloric deficit (eating 950-1200) even if you spent your entire day lying on your couch. The question is: why would you want to eat as little as that, given: 1) your activity level, 2) your size, 3) the fact you’re in the normal weight range?

I could understand you’d want to shed a little bit of fat / improve body composition, but if so, this would be best achieved with a moderate deficit.

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)

Take a look at the Fitbit help site for further assistance and information.

Best Answer
Thanks for the reply.I dont want to lose weight im happy with my body,Im more curious as to why im not loosing weight if i see it that my calories in are way lower than calories out.
My diet calories in has been the same for 20 years or more.I feel great and a great body for a 44yr old but i cannot get my head around it with such a terrible diet and such high burned calories.
Best Answer
0 Votes