Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why do we want to lose weight?

Hi all! I'm a product designer and a fresh starter at FitBit. I have problems about issues like exercising, keeping track of calories and finding motivation. I'd like to get some knowledge and experience from those who would like to join my discussions. Here's my first question: Why do we want to lose weight?

Many thanks to all in advance!

Best Answer
5 REPLIES 5

This is kind of a general question that has as many answers as there are those to answer.  I lose wieght to feel better, to be able to engage in activities I can not while overwieght, and to not suffer the horrendous death I watched my father recently experience.  My father died from complications of diabetes.  He worked out daily for 50 years but ate items that affected his health.  To smell his rotting flesh as we changed his dressings.  To see the huge amount of suffering he experienced as the cut off fingers, toes, feet, and hearing the proposals of removing his legs is something I fight everyday to avoid.  I am active.  I usual hover around 16000 to 20000 steps a day.  But more importantly I try to eat healthier foods.  I still want to hike the Pacific Crest Trail.  I still want to take grandchildren on hikes to conquor peaks over 14000 ft.  I want to feel energy to walk the dogs after a long day of work instead of hitting the couch and watching TV.  My reasons.  What are yours?

Best Answer

Losing weight isn't really important to me personally. I have an active job and two nutty dogs so I burn calories just waking up. Mostly it's about keeping toned. I shudder at the idea of having jiggly thighs or bat wing upper arms. I'm proud my legs and arms are hard muscle. My weight bounces around 130 more or less and I'm good with that.

Best Answer