Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Doing the same things, but expecting different results" Help!

For four years now I have been "dieting". I have lost zero. pounds. Here is my day:

Wake up, feel great, sensible breakfast.

Lunchtime, feel great, sensible lunch.

I go for a walk. Hey, this is easy.

Night time, dinner can be good, can be not good.

After my kids go to sleep it's open season. Even after a day of good choices I talk myself into "starting tomorrow with the diet", even though that's what I've been doing for literally four years.

I'm so frustrated by failure. It's constant. Literally every day. I can't even make it a week without beer or something. I just want to START. 

Anyone else going through this?

Best Answer
0 Votes
13 REPLIES 13

I've been there.  It took me over two years to figure out exactly what was driving my desire to loose weight.  I wanted it long before i had kids, but my kids really kept me focuses.  Setting a good example helps push me through my ice cream cravings. 

I changed my options to help out with the same situation.  No junk food/processed foods in the house. Sure i have treats for the kids now, but in the beginning it was fruits and vegetables.  Wonder why my son LOVES Apples? 

I definetly have several beers a week, but i try to cycle those with my most active days.  

Good Luck

Best Answer
0 Votes

Good idea with the beer. I mean, I have drank a lot in the past, and I still feel myself being pulled that way, which is another issue altogether (though maybe not). I just need to say no and have that be it. I can say no all day long at work to snacks and stuff, but I get home at night and it's on! haha. STOP THE INSANITY! *end susan powter*

Best Answer
0 Votes

How about going for the walk or workout at home after your kids are put to bed? That way your cravings are being taken care of with exercise. 

Fitbit Community ModeratorHelena A. | Community Moderator, Fitbit