Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

weight loss and calorie counting....

ANSWERED

Hi! I'm new to fitbit, just started this week. I've been keeping a food log for awhile and trying to maintain a 2000 calorie diet. I am quite overweight (over 100lbs to lose). I was really struggling with the diet though, I was constantly hungry and breaking my diet to binge on junkfood, and the closer I managed to stay to my diet the fatigued I was.

So here's where i'm curious, how exactly does fitbit calculate calorie burn? From activities like walking, i mean. I've only had my fitbit for one work day, but it tells me I walked 12.7 miles and burned 5000 calories over the course of the day. The milage is high but believable, I'm not sure about the calorie burn though, is that right? If it is, it might explain why I was so fatigued and constantly breaking my diet, if I've only been eating half of what I should be for healthy weight loss on my work days. 

Another thing I could use some advice on, on my weekends I struggle to be active. I've made more of an effort this weekend but fitbit and I have different ideas of what 'very active' means. An hour long walk up and down hills only yielded 6 minutes of 'very active' today

and as far as eating on my weekends, if i'm not burning nearly as many calories I should eat accordingly, right? and if i'm really burning 5k calories on a work day, then if i'm understanding this right I should be eating 4k (assuming i'm going for a 1k daily deficit for 2lb/week weight loss)? how do you even do that without junk food? I have feel like i'm missing something important here

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

It's mainly going to underestimate.

See, it uses an estimate of your body's burn rate while sleeping, and applies it to all non-moving time.

But when you are awake and non-moving you actually burn more.