Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit One Not Counting Floors Correctly

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.
My Fitbit One showed 6 flights of steps. Then synced and said 4 floors. I have left a penny on the top step each time I went upstairs in the house.

I have 12 pennies and yet Fitbit shows only 4 floors.

I've been using it in this same house for many months. Now it cannot count stairs correctly? I read that approximately 10 feet difference in elevation accounts for a flight of stairs.

What can been done to correct this miscalculation?

Best Answer
0 Votes
8 REPLIES 8

Your One calculates floors by measuring changes in air pressure through a small hole on the back of the One. Could it be that this hole has become blocked?

Best Answer
0 Votes
I checked the hole on the back and it's seems fine.

But I did do a "Reset" to see if it will function properly.
Best Answer
0 Votes
I checked the hole on the back and it's seems fine.

But I did do a "Reset" to see if it will function properly.
Best Answer
0 Votes

Like many of you I have experienced interesting issues with floors.  On the same route floors have been recorded as 13, 0, 2, 5, 7, 9, 0, etc.  I have checked air hole, carried in same pocket, pace has varied a little.

But 0? 13?  is the takeaway from our experiences that the one does not measure floors well?

Best Answer
0 Votes

@seeingsystems it certainly seems that your One does not measure floors well (mine seems to be measuring them fine). 

If several restarts don't work for you then it may be that yours is defective. Are you still within warranty? (you can check the terms at www.fitbit.com/returns ) If so, it might be worth contacting customer support. If they can't resolve it they may offer a replacement:

contact.fitbit.com

Best Answer
0 Votes