Passive LCD Screen - or Passive Unlit Screen Always on Mode

A passive LCD screen is old technology, and will be cheap to implement. Also the display can be always on without taxing battery life. There are other requests for an 'always on' display. This could solve that issue. 

A backlight could be set by a tap, buttonpress, or by the app to be always on, on for 1 second, 3 seconds, 5 seconds or 7 seconds. With today's newer LED technology, a backlight also would take very little battery power. I'm not an electronics engineer, but my "guesstimate" would be that the blazingly bright displays on the current line of Fitbits (like my Charge2 HR) suck a lot of juice out of, what must be, a tiny battery inside the unit.

Backlights on a supertwist LCD display aren't necessary in most situations, if there is ambient light. The app can set the unit to automatically activate-deactivate a low power LED backlight according to the geographical location of the unit's sunrise and sunset times. The Fitbit app already requires that it needs to have time zones, so this would be a straightforward software implementation. With the app recording geographical location, the sunrise and sunset times are a standard algorithm. The backlight will only be needed when it's dark anyway. Even after sunset, most users will be in ambient light environments, to wit. 

Also, with supertwist LCDs, which are old technology, resolution in even moderate lighting should not be much of an issue. Some of the old mobile phones  had displays that would  be easier to read than the most current active displays on the newest smart phones. The monchromes were the easiest to read, and they were the cheapest to produce. Also  color LCDs are a possibility. Color screens on Fitbits would be new, since (I believe) all the current Fitbits are monochrome as of yet.