Seizure alert

I am an er nurse and my brother has seizures. I think it would be helpful if a Fitbit could alert another phone if the person wearing it with the seizure disorder had a sudden heart rate of 120 or over or if it were to go in and out of sleep Mode several times. It would just be a clue to check on that person.

32 Comments
jaydreese
First Steps

My son as well many others around the world has Seizures and many times we do not know that seizure activity is actively going on at anytime.

Can you develop the monitoring of seizure activity?

Thanks

Status changed to: Not currently planned
SilviaFitbit
Premium User
Fitbit Moderator
Fitbit Moderator

This is a technical limitation for Fitbit trackers because Fitbit is not a medical device. So, this won't help monitoring a seizure activity. 

flyoffacliff
Jogger

This would be great to have. But it probably won't happen for legal reasons. FitBit is not intended to be a medical deice.

cmeh71
First Steps
They could have a disclaimer that it is not to be used for medical reasons

Sent from my iPhone
SunsetRunner
Not applicable

This is an interesting idea. However, Fitbit trackers are not intended to provide medical or scientific data.

nalag03srawr
Jogger

i have epilepsy, and i use my fitbit alta for it, actually. no, they were not intended for medical things. there isn't anything out there for us. it's frustrating, because we become so helpless. i use my silent alarms to remind me to go take my medicine, because my epilepsy attacks the section of my brain that touches my memory, and it has helped me wonderfully. i wish there was something exactly of what they mentioned.

Coedwigwr
Jogger

My son has suffered from seizures and wears a pebble smartwatch to detect abnormal motion. Fitbit have acquired the intellectual property of pebble so should be able to incorporate this into their own range.

J_me53074
First Steps

Great idea!

Richard_Parsons
First Steps