Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clock Face and Stats (bit of a noob)

Hello, I will be straight up honest, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to developing. I do though like to design and the chance to create my own clock face for my watch is to tempting to miss out on. Now I have successfully added my own picture, altered the text colour size and position etc which is great. Unfortunately I can not find any info on how to add things like steps, heart rate etc to the clock face I have.

I have tried certain things to see if they will appear together but with no luck.

Now I don't want to take up to much of people's time but is there any chance someone could post some basic code that would show the clock and steps on the same screen. I don't want to much help as I want to learn as I go along. Any help would be appreciated.

Best Answer
0 Votes
22 REPLIES 22

No problem!

We're working to improve our documentation and examples to make this easier for everyone.

Here's how to get the step count for example:

import { today } from "user-activity";
console.log((today.local.steps || 0) + " steps");

You can see what other stats are available in the reference docs https://dev.fitbit.com/reference/device-api/user-activity/

There are lots of developers helping each other on the unofficial Discord server. https://discord.gg/4ujeheG

Best Answer

Sorry to come accross a little bit amatuer but where would I place this piece of code in relation to my clock face code that I already have?

Best Answer
0 Votes

You'd need to include somewhere to display the text, in your index.gui file:

<text id="steps" y="100" width="100%" fill="red" />

In your index.js, you would include the "import" statement at the top. 

Then get a handle on the text box.

var steps = document.getElementById("steps");

Then inside your clock tick event, you would update the step count, every minute maybe.

steps.innerText = (today.local.steps || 0) + " steps";