var hrm = new HeartRateSensor();
    let heartRate = hrm.heartRate;
    ShoHeartRate.text = `${"HeartRate="}${heartRate}`;

but I get 'null' for heartRate when it prints on the screen

What am I doing wrong?

Best Answer
0 Votes
9 REPLIES 9

You need to start measurement for the HR sensor before you read the value.
Also you must wait until the sensor had read the value. You can do it best in the onreading callback.
Here is an example:

// handling HR sensor:
var hrm = new HeartRateSensor();
hrm.onreading = function() { 
console.log("HR="+hrm.heartRate);
ShoHeartRate.text=hrm.heartRate;
}
hrm.onerror = function() { console.log("HR err"); }
hrm.start();

me.onunload = () => {
if (hrm) hrm.stop();
}

Never forget to stop the HR sensor at least when you stop the app (onunload).

Best Answer
0 Votes

Please a few more questions because I'm kind of new at this environment. Others might be interested too. And what you're telling me should be in the documentation someplace as well.

How long does it take (approximately) to do one reading?

Would it work to do the code you suggest (turning the heartrate facility on and off) every second, or does it take longer than that to do a reading so I'd need to do it every 10 seconds or whatever?

Can't I do a hrm.stop at the end of the onreading method to turn the sensor off? Or does on/off take a lot of time and so it should be left running until the app doesn't need it anymore?

Does the heartrate facility suck a lot of battery, thus I need to turn it off? My code is a clock face which doesn't exit, so is it valid to just leave the heartrate facility on? Or would that cause conflict with other apps? Is there a way to turn it off when I swipe to an app that also does heartrate? Would they conflict?

Thanks!

Best Answer
0 Votes

The HR sensor will only referenced by the API.
A start will increase the ref counter and stop decreases it. But it has no direct effect on real sensor.