Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about more advanced hiking app

ANSWERED

Dear Fitbit community,

As I am searching for a new fitness tracker that is focused on mountain hikes, thus i would like to ask if it is possible to create a more advanced version of hiking app.

Unfortunately I have no knowledge in creating apps, but i have resources to do so.

Would it be possible to create an app for the Fitbit Ionic, that shows real time data for: distance traveled, elevation gain/loss (total) actual elevation, heart rate and calories burned? Does Fitbit OS allows that or is it impossible?

I know that there is a basic hiking app where i can check three stats that i can choose, but this is too basic for my needs.

I am sorry if those questions were answered before, but all those topics are full of concepts that I don't understand and i haven't found an simplified answer.

Best regards,

WR

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I think this would be possible. The only problem I'd see is that such an app would only have access to less frequent heart rate data, whereas the Fitbit Exercise app can get access to more frequent heart rate data.

The Fitbit Exercise app may still meet your need. While you can only view three stats at once, you can touch the middle stat to view others.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7

I think this would be possible. The only problem I'd see is that such an app would only have access to less frequent heart rate data, whereas the Fitbit Exercise app can get access to more frequent heart rate data.

The Fitbit Exercise app may still meet your need. While you can only view three stats at once, you can touch the middle stat to view others.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer
0 Votes

Thank You very much for Your answer. Those are some good news for me.