Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Web API in conjunction with FitBit Studio

ANSWERED

Hello!

I am a high school student wanting to make an app for my Fitbit versa lite. 

My goal is simple: the user (me) downloads an app on their Fitbit and doesn’t worry about it as it runs in the background and passively collects daily time series data using the Web API. If certain data criteria have been met, the app should show me notifications ("your calculated walking speed for yesterday was 3.2mph, or, you only got 5 hours of sleep yesterday").

However, as a beginner, I am very confused about how I should set this up. Should I first make an "app" on Fitbit Studio? And then can I make call requests from there to the Web API to get my personal data?

If so, how should I configure my Web API registration so that the "callback URL" and other settings work with Fitbit studio?

Sorry if these are very obvious questions. I would really appreciate all your help!

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Apps can't run in the background on the watch. Running in the background isn't necessary to cause the watch to record data that can be accessed via the Web API (although it can only be accessed after the watch syncs, which could be infrequently).

The companion (phone) part can be woken every 5 minutes. That would be the appropriate place to query the Web API. However, the companion can't send notifications to the watch. The best it could do would be to display messages it receives from the companion when the user opens it. But if the user doesn't open it, they won't see anything.

An example app for accessing Web API is here.

You could actually do 100% of what you described using a native app on your phone (eg, Java/kotlin in Android Studio), including sending notifications that would be visible on the watch when any other clockface/app were running.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software

View best answer in original post