Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weather icons

ANSWERED

I'm new to sdk and I've built a clockface with weather. I used the fitbit weather api, and for reference I used the exact code of the "sdk-weather-clock" https://github.com/Fitbit/sdk-weather-clock

Everything worked so far, now I want to assign weather icons to weather conditioncodes. I already have icons in resources folder and want help assigning them.

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

That said, I'd be inclined to extract the number and use it as an index into an associative array of image filenames.

Or, change the filenames to match the conditionCode values plus .png, then you wouldn't need a conditional test at all!

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
10 REPLIES 10

You can use the image element and set the href to the image name as it appears in the resources folder:

https://dev.fitbit.com/build/guides/user-interface/svg/#images

You can either create an element for each icon and show/hide them as needed in js, or use one image element and dynamically set the href:

let ele_weatherIcon = document.getElementById("weather-icon");
// ...
if (isSunny) {
  ele_weatherIcon.href = "sunny-icon.jpg";
}
Best Answer
0 Votes
let ele_wimage = document.getElementById("wimage");
newfile.initialize(data => {
if (data.conditioncode == "32") {
  ele_wimage.href = "windy.png";
  }
  if (data.conditioncode == "1") {
    ele_wimage.href = "sunny.png";
  }
});

not displaying any icons in sim

Best Answer
0 Votes

Use console.log to see what's getting executed, and the values of important variables (eg, data.conditioncode).

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer
0 Votes

in simulator conditioncode shown as 32 (windy)

details.text = '${data.conditionCode}'

Best Answer
0 Votes

"32 (windy)" isn't equal to "32". See what damage you can do with this.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer
0 Votes