Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Resting HR spikes (and sleep HR goes up) when sick

I've had my Fitbit HR since March now and I've been sick many times, and Very Consistenly I notice that my resting HR spikes up to "72" and stays there while I'm at the peak of sickness, and comes down when I'm well. Whatever formula they have seems to be extra magical in predicting the onset of viral illness because it starts to go up 2 days before I get any symptoms. Interestingly, the resting HR doesn't directly relate to overnight HR -- my overnight HR is "normally" 54-59, and when i'm sick and my resting HR is 72, my overnight HR is in the mid-to-high 60s. Most people's reactions to this is that the scale of change is insignificant (I'm a scientist / I get comments from other scientists), and I'd agree except that it's alarming precise and these noticeable spikes *only* happen when I'm sick. Anyone else noticing this magical prediction ability and mirroring of illness state??

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 6.39.41 AM.png

Best Answer
93 REPLIES 93

My HR also went up two days before I got sick.  Got a sore throat and stuffy nose.  Went  from 70 to 96, will let you all know if it goes down when I’m over my sickness 

Best Answer
0 Votes
My usually runs 59-65, but spiked to 70 when I was sick. Scared me until I saw these other posts!
Best Answer
0 Votes

I get exactly the same! Currently I'm fighting something off and my resting heart rate is up to 70 when it's usually about 62. Same with overnight heart rate, normally its 52 - 54 but currently it only drops as low as 64 in sleep because I'm I'll. Very interesting! How long does it take for your resting heart rate to get back to normal after your illness? 

Best Answer
0 Votes

Pretty much when you start to feel better. A week? Two weeks? Get well soon!

Best Answer