Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I read exported tcx files?

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I'm new to the fitbit, exercise, community and am not  up on all the little things.  I have a Surge and wanted to export some data to show my cardiologist but have not found a way to read the data I exported.  I opened the file w/ notepad++ and it was just an empty HTML shell with no data.  I only have the Surge and my laptop, no smart phone, so how do I access this HR data in a useful form? 

TIA, Ron R.

Best Answer
0 Votes
14 REPLIES 14

the tcx is empty where no localization exists.

the tcx format file is from Garmin.

no localization, no HR data

Best Answer
0 Votes

Thanks for the quick reply.  I took a walk this afternoon and now have a TCX file with data in it.  Still have no way of looking at the data in a useful manor.  Is there a windows application that can open the file and give me some meaningful data or something that I can use to import the data into Open Office Speadsheet. 

Ron R.

Best Answer
0 Votes

@Ron.R wrote:

I'm new to the fitbit, exercise, community and am not  up on all the little things.  I have a Surge and wanted to export some data to show my cardiologist but have not found a way to read the data I exported.  I opened the file w/ notepad++ and it was just an empty HTML shell with no data.  I only have the Surge and my laptop, no smart phone, so how do I access this HR data in a useful form? 

Fitbit has a *bug* with TCX export, it only works if you have tracked a GPS activity using the Surge, or MobileRun, or Blaze with ConnectedGPS. That is unfortunate and I reported a year ago, it still hasn't been fixed.

Fitbit TCX export exists to share an activity with another fitness app like MapMyRun, MapMyRide, Runkeeper, etc, etc.

What exactly do you want to show cardiologist?

Aria, Fitbit MobileTrack on iOS. Previous: Flex, Force, Surge, Blaze