Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Display Authentication Page on another host/computer

Hi Fitbit Community,

I am very new to OAuth 2 so I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question. Right now my fitbit app only works with callback URL set to:

http://127.0.0.1:8080/

It opens the authentication window on my computer browser and everything works great.

However, I need to run my program on a remote Linux machine that I only have access to through terminal. The authentication window cannot be shown because there is no browser on that machine; and when I run it it says 8080 port not available for use. Is is possible for the authentication window to be redirected back to my machine instead of localhost so that I can authenticate the login attempt? Thank you!

Dennis Lin

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

Hi @linneverstops 

The authentication/consent screen is for another Fitbit user to consent sharing their data with your application.  The consent screen is going to be shown through their web browser or mobile device.   Enter your complete authorize URL, https://www.fitbit.com/oauth2/authorize/..., into another browser window on another machine or mobile device.  When you consent, the user will redirect back to your machine.   You'll need to make certain the redirect URL is accessible outside your firewall.   If the URL is not accessible, the web page will not load.   The access token or authorization code will still be visible in the URL.  You can manually copy it back to your Linux machine.   For testing purposes, this is ok.  It should be fixed for production use to provide a seamless user experience.

Gordon Crenshaw
Senior Technical Solutions Consultant
Fitbit Partner Engineering & Web API Support | Google
Best Answer

Hi @GordonFitbit