Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need to get an API for sleep state

ANSWERED

Hello I am a college student at computer engineering department.
I want to develop an application. To do that, I need to get an API for sleep state, how can I get it?
Can I integrate the web API with Android mobile?
Is it possible to get the data as soon as the user is asleep?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

It looks like they have updated the API docs here - https://dev.fitbit.com/docs/sleep/ to include the stages data 

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes
4 REPLIES 4

I was really excited to learn about the new Sleep Stages and other features being released soon, specified here

I apologize if this is a duplicate post, but I did not find one specifically asking about the API side of this new feature.  Will we be able to access Sleep Stages, in particular, from the API?  It would be extremely helpful to sleep research.  A daily statistic showing the number of minutes in each stage, perhaps, and eventually the sleep stage in the minute-by-minute sleep log would be great.

Best Answer

It's a little unclear what you're asking.  Are you looking for the new sleep stages feature that was just announced? (here)  Or are you asking how to get sleep data in general?  If you're referring to the new sleep stages feature, it's not available on the API yet.  I actually asked a question about it recently, which hasn't been answered yet (here).

If you're asking how to get sleep data in general, I would suggest reading the guide in the API documentation (here) and looking at the available 3rd-party oAuth libraries that Fitbit has suggested (listed here).  Yes, you can integrate the web API with an Android app - although not listed in the 3rd-party libraries I linked, there are some samples on Github and some discussions in the community forum here on how best to do it.