Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing an app running on Windows IoT

Hi,

so my colleagues gifted me with a Raspi 3 for my birthday. Being a Windows programmer I installed Windows IoT on it and started to develop an UWP app showing time, weather, maps etc.

I also integrated my home NetAtmo station by using their web api. It also includes an oauth2 authentication. I designed a login screen in my app and used username and password to authenticate. So far so good.

Reading the fitbit documentation I understand that this is not allowed to replicate here. I apparently need to redirect my user (=me) to the fitbit login screen, but then I have to add a "redirect URL" to continue. I have no idea what URL that may be. Maybe I misinterpreted the documentation?

Please help!

Rainer

Best Answer
0 Votes
3 REPLIES 3

Hi @Rainer.Prem,

The redirect URL redirects the user back to your application and then presents the user with the scopes to enable.  The URL needs to be a valid URL that is already established with your server, and has to be an absolute URL.   For example, your URL could be https://www.RainerPremApplication.com/callback.

If you want to test the OAuth process outside of your application, Fitbit offers the OAuth 2.0 Tutorial page which walks a user through the OAuth process.  The tutorial can be found here: https://dev.fitbit.com/apps/oauthinteractivetutorial.  If you access the tutorial at the bottom of your application settings page, the values from your application registration will be entered for you.

OAuth 2.0 Tutorial - Access Point.png

Gordon Crenshaw
Senior Technical Solutions Consultant
Fitbit Partner Engineering & Web API Support | Google
Best Answer
0 Votes