Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stair count is completely inaccurate

ANSWERED
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I am brand new to Fitbit, got my first Ionic on Tuesday (11th Sept)

I'm still not 100% sold on this product, and one thing that is really getting on my nerves is the stair count.

I wear my fitbit on my dominant hand. I put it on every morning, in my bedroom, upstairs (I don't shower with it)

I go down stairs, leave to go to work. I work on a mezzanine floor, so I go up the stairs to my office. I then go down a different staircase to the toilets and back up to the office about 5 times a day (10 stairs climbed)

When I get home at the end of the day and check my stair count, it's counted between 1-3 stairs climbed.

I've read that the stairs have to be 10ft elevation, I work in a big factory and I'm pretty sure it's higher than 10 feet. So... 3 different flight of stairs and it's only recording a couple of climbs.

The only thing I can think of is that I do run down stairs and run back up 2 steps a time. I can't imagine this would have any effect if it's done on height.

Anyone else having this problem?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I wear an Ionic as a regular watch. Went upstairs before midnight.

Went downstairs and back up a couple times in the morning.

*Drove* uphill to gym

*Drove* for coffee and back home past gym (highest point of the three)

Got home hopped out the car for a post gym GPS run - 16 floors before I got 10 feet from the car!

Whats up with that?

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
18 REPLIES 18

I got up at 4 and went downstairs to the bathroom.

zero steps and zero stairs!

It does it when I am trying to be quiet!

My Charge 2 did exactly the same

Best Answer
0 Votes

Hey, what I figured is that it don't count stairs. More like floors.