Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does the Aria 2 measure body fat percentage?

ANSWERED
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hi, 

First things first, I'm a lover of my Fitbit charge 2, and I believe the aria 2 would be ideal for compatibility of measurements. However, I'm a sports scientist and also a personal trainer and I believe that the scales are to some extent overpriced, believing the weight to be accurate, BMI figure should be obvlivious for 95% of the population due to it's inaccuracy of measurements it take into account. But my question really is If anyone can answer, how does it measure your body fat percentage? And how accurate can that be? Because a bioelectrical impedance analysis cost cheaper and has a more detailed and structured procedure. I understand Fitbit wants to be the Apple IPhone market for sport, however the description doesn't provide significant enough detail for me to buy this for it's cost. Someone please help.

Moderator edit: updated subject for clarity

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@Kieran9619 -- The Aria 2 uses bioelectrical impedance to estimate your fat percentage.  As far as accuracy, it depends on how similar your body composition is to the group of people they must have used to create their algorithm.  The premise is that fat conducts electricity at a different rate than the rest of your body (water, muscle, bone).  It will likely be slightly different from other scales using bioelectrical impedance (I have an Aria 2, a Withings scale, and an Omron.  I can get on and off all three within a couple of minutes and they all give different fat % results).