Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Blaze made me aware I may have hyperthyroidism

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I'm physically fit and run/workout regularly.  I've been wearing my Blaze since April 2016.  My resting heart rate has been consistently 53-58 since then.

On June 25 I noticed my RHR went up a little.  Then every day after it climbed a bit more up to 77 a few days ago.

July 5th I called my doctors office and they sent me for blood work.  I saw him yesterday and it turns out that my TSH level is 0.01 indicating that it is most likely hyperthyroidism.  I went for more blood work (thyroid study) yesterday.

Thanks to my Blaze (and a few other symptoms that I might've put off) I called and can now fix the problem.

The reason I'm sharing this is because I wanted people to know that if you see your RHR rise it doesn't always mean there's something wrong with your Fitbit. 

Moderator edit: updated subject for clarity

Best Answer
9 REPLIES 9

Wow, thanks for sharing your experience with us @TracyV125!

While Fitbit trackers are not medical devices and therefore not meant to diagnose any condition, they sure give you an idea of things that might be going on with your body and not necessarily that there's something wrong with the tracker as you well say.

I'm glad you are now aware of this and that you reached out to your doctor to confirm and I really hope you can get the correct treatment for this to keep enjoying a healthy life!

Anything else you may need, you know that I'm here or any other moderator willing to help. Again great to see you participating in the Community Forums and thanks for sharing this with us! Heart

Ferdin | Community Moderator, Fitbit

Help others by giving votes and marking helpful solutions as Accepted

Best Answer
0 Votes