Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BMI Chart as Gospel or do Your own thing?

ANSWERED

I've closed in on the last 10 pounds for the BMI chart to say I'm high "normal". My original goal before I studied it was 5 lbs over....I thought I'd be overjoyed and happy to "maintain" from there. I'm doing very well still losing and I know I can get to "normal"....but What do/did You do?

Some people carry a Few extra pounds just fine and carried them in their youthful most active years. I'm 62 and just wondering if crossing off that Last square on a BMI chart Really will make me "healthier"? I feel so much better I honestly don't know if I Need to be at that weight....especially since I'm 5'5" and it's the Same BMI for 5' 4". I kinda wondered Why it's the same....

Any comments appreciated! Woman Very Happy  I'm not "stressing" I expect I'll keep right on going to the BMI goal but I'm Curious as to how others feel about it.  Thank You! 

It's just beyond astonishing to me how much fitbit has helped my education and finess. I'm already Very happy!

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

There are so many studies on how relevant BMI really is to health. Some say its important particularly for children, others say it doesn't matter because it doesn't take muscle mass into account, which some say is the real indicator of health- on and on. I however understand the need to "finish" what one started. just like I can't get off a cardio machine until I see a round number - I mean who can get off with 4.36 miles done. It boils down to what feels right. If you are losing without stress then your body is still comfy and willing to go lower. If it should stop, then you have "finished"...

Elena | Pennsylvania

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
36 REPLIES 36

@wannabelf