Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Don't hate...we all have to start somewhere.

I currently have a little home gym my son and I have been building over time.  I believe one of my main reasons for having this home gym is to avoid the embarassment of appearing like this in the gym.  I am not sure I've ever done anything this goofy, but I sure do feel this way working out in public at times.  I think shame has been a large motivativating factor in both not working out and eating unhealthy foods and portion sizes.  Anybody else have any thoughts on the role of shame and embarassment on staying fit? I'd love to hear your thoughts.

https://youtu.be/in1hwXytpfM

Best Answer
11 REPLIES 11

I work out at home, but that's really more of a convenience thing.  A number of years ago I worked out at the college gym (I was a mature student) and never had any issues.  I have, when walking, had an occasional rude statement yelled out of a car - yet anyone I met on the walking paths themselves were polite and/or friendly.

Anne | Rural Ontario, Canada

Ionic (gifted), Alta HR (gifted), Charge 2, Flex 2, Charge HR, One, Blaze (retired), Trendweight.com,

Down 150 pounds from my top weight (and still going), sharing my experiences here to try and help others.

Best Answer
0 Votes

I also work out at home.

I did for a while go to the gym. Never saw any one do anything like that before that was in the video.

There were some people that did things wrong but there were also a lot of very helpful people who would show them the right way.

I agree with @A_Lurker Never met anyone rude while walking. Some people are not friendly but most all always say hi

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer

@WendyB- I changed my wording slightly to polite and/or friendly.  That's probably more appropriate.