Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitness Progress

This post isn't a fishing exercise for compliment or priase on success, but just maybe to let others hear my story and maybe find some encouragement in it.  If any fitness experts would like to offer comments to further improve my fitness, I would welcome those as they may benefit others as well.

So I started my journey almost a year ago (Christmas).  I had gained a lot of weight and carried it for about 5 years.  I was 240 lbs at 5'10" and 56 years old.  I have a fit background having played basketball and ran track in high school, then ROTC in college followed by 7 years in the Army.  I continued to run and workout for many years until I went back to school in 2003 to learn computer programming.

It is as after school when I started programming and sitting all day (previously I was in manufacturing management and walked a lot during the day).  Then I started in a consulting role where I combined travel with sitting all day and eating out every night.  The weight just started adding up.

So last Christmas I was given a fitbit flex ( since upgraded to Charge HR).  Honestly, I hadn't even heard of fitbit before, but I joined and started dieting and walking.  All I did was walk in the beginning and try to get 10k in steps each day.  As the pounds came off, I started trying to jog a little on my walks.  I won't lie, it was tough.  The extra weight didn't feel good on my joints either, but I just tried to keep going and managed to loose down to 208.